

PRESS RELEASE

Submission of nomination papers for by-elections

The Malawi Electoral Commission today received nominations papers from aspiring candidates in the October 7, 2014 by-elections. Candidates who were duly nominated in postponed elections were required to inform the Commission in writing on their intent to contest again.

The following are the names of candidates who have presented nomination papers or informed the Commission on their intent to contest:

Zgeba Ward, Karonga Nyungwe Constituency

- 1. Jonathan Jody M. Matandala Independent
- 2. Spencer Jona Mwalweni Independent

The following have submitted letters of intent to contest:

- 3. Gibson Mulwa Peoples Party (PP)
- 4. Ganyavu Ngwira Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)
- 5. Victor Connex Nthara Malawi Congress Party (MCP)

Mbalachanda Ward, Mzimba Central Constituency

There were no new nominations and all the three candidates have submitted letters of intent to contest as follows:

Palipose John Chipeta PP
 Moses M.J. Kamanga DPP
 Davis C.K. Manda Independent

Lifupa ward, Kasungu West Constituency

There were no new nominations and the following submitted letters of intent to contest:

1.	Gift Magwalangwa Banda	DPP
2.	Mathias Chimowa Banda	MCP
3.	Samson M.B.C. Banda	UDF
4.	Jairos K. Bonongwe	Independent
5.	Josophat Kadzakalowa Kasese	Independent
6.	Shadrick Keith Phiri	PP

Kandeu Ward, Ntcheu North East Constituency

1.	Raynox Master Gobede	Independent
2.	Francis Doba Gama Maliro	UDF
3.	Gabriel Edward Misomali	Independent

The following have submitted letters of intent to contest:

4. Andrew Alexander DPP

- 5. Dave Kachingwe NLP
- 6. Harold Jones Liwonde MCP
- 7. Stanly Duma Siyasiya PP

Lisanjala Ward

- 1. Davy F.C Chitedze Independent
- 2. Chancy Often Tiwale DPP

The following have submitted letters of intent to contest:

3. Ashraf Tepani Botha	Independent
4. John Chipojola Dyton	Independent
5. Suzen Yasin Gama	PP
6. Loveness Katembo	Independent
7. Richard Matenje	Independent
8. January Sozibele	Independent
9. Charles Mbewe Thomondo	o UDF

Blantyre North Constituency

1.	Wyson Dominic Makungwa	Independent
2.	Willy Chikaiko Maulana	MCP
3.	Aubrey Mukwacha	Independent

One candidate above who was duly nominated in the May 2014 elections has changed affiliation and submitted a fresh nomination. The following are the candidates who have submitted letters of intent to contest:

- 4. Paul Jonas Maulidi PP
- 5. Caleb Charles Ng'ombo UDF
- 6. Francis Lucky Phiso DPP

Thyolo East Constituency

- 1. January Chewasi Bwanali Independent
- 2. Florence Bertha Chisanga MCP
- 3. Gerson Timothy Solomon DPP
- 4. Elisha Joel Milanzi Independent

The Commission will scrutinize the nominations to ensure that the aspirants are eligible to contest. The Commission will announce all candidates who will be allowed to contest on September 15, 2014.

Members of the public wishing to challenge the eligibility of any candidate mentioned above should write the Commission with substantiated evidence of the ineligibility.

Those challenging the eligibility of a candidate on the basis of understanding or interpretation of the law are encouraged to seek opinions of their legal counsel before challenging the eligibility of any of the contestants.

All stakeholders should also take note that the Commission will not be moved to disqualify any candidate basing on challenges raised through media press briefings of which the Commission has not been properly furnished with details.

Signed this 9th day of September, 2014 at Blantyre

JUNF

PP: Willie Kalonga
Chief Elections Officer